WHAT DID I LEARN FROM MY PERSONAL CRISIS COMMUNICATION?

Eventually, the crisis was over.

See how I solved my personal crisis communication here:

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Have you seen how I applied the communication plan formula to my personal crisis communication step by step?

If you don’t know about the communication plan, you can read about it here.

Let’s review it

A. Research – Learned about myself

  • In this step, you can see I talked a lot about my feelings, preconceptions, assumptions and abilities. For example: I needed to talk with someone to calm me down and walk me through the solution since I was out of control and my mind was biased and unclear.
  • My mind was overwhelmed by mixtures of thoughts and I needed to write them down to organize my thoughts.
  • I wrote the email when I was mad, and thus, the languages I used might not be appropriate so I needed someone to proofread it before I sent the email.
  • By learning and understanding about myself, I would be able to know what I would need to do next. This step is similar to that you do research and learn about your target audiences and the values and missions of the company/ organization/ project you stand for in organizational crisis communication. It has allowed me to understand myself, my strength and weakness when it comes to crisis.

B. Analysis

    • After collecting information about myself as well as the issue, it was time to analyze the situation.
    • I chose to talk with three people who knew me and people who involved in the situation, and above anything, I trusted them to share my personal stuff. During those conversations with them, sometimes, I lost my trust in them because we texted instead talking in person. I didn’t understand what they meant, and they also didn’t understand what I was talking about. I always dislike texting and emailing, especially in important situations where I need to discuss something with someone. Every time, I told them I needed to talk; I truly meant I wanted to see and talk with them in person, but they always wanted me to text them and told me I was lazy if I didn’t text. That situation made me realize that I would not be able to clear up things via emails even though an email sometimes could be easier than confronting and talking in person. It reflected the tactics and methods I chose to solve the issue in the next step. Regardless of the fact that we had a lot of arguments in our conversations, we shared our opinions honestly and openly, so we could understand each other and learned about the situation more.

      Honest and open arguments are always encouraged.

    • Moreover, during my conversations with people I asked for help and had one of them proofread my email, I understood that what the ‘A’ person heard from the ‘B’ about what the ‘C’ said didn’t say the ‘C’ said exactly the ‘XYZ’. It was a telephone game. I couldn’t assume anything before I confirmed all information from the A and the B.
    • This step allowed me to consider my time budget that I needed to solve the issue as soon as possible and reminded myself that I also

      needed to be calm and patient.

      More haste, less speed.

    • Also,

      the process of writing everything down and putting feelings into words helped me ease my emotions as well as give me a way of knowing how to deliver my key messages effectively.

[FYI] According to “Putting Feelings Into Words Produces Therapeutic Effects In The Brain” from the university of California, Los Angeles, putting feelings into words activates the prefrontal regions and reduces the response to amygdala. Amygdala is is an almond-shape set of neurons located deep in the brain’s medial temporal lobe. It plays a role in the processing our emotions including fears and pleasure (Science Daily)]

C. Communication

  • I chose to come and talk with the C in person. It was my tactic for the issue because like I said above, emails weren’t a smart way to communicate in the situation.
  • I planned to come to the meeting and express all of my concerns to the C person; however, in this communication plan, what I didn’t do well was to set a goal and objective for myself at the beginning. I knew that I wanted to find out if the C person said the ‘XYZ”, but I forgot the fact that I also needed to get promoted. I had a butterfly in my stomach before the meeting because I wasn’t completely clear about the goal, so that my friend had to talk to me and ask me,“What do I need to get out of the meeting?” to clarify my thoughts. Even though I reorganized my thoughts in the email and knew what I was going to say in the meeting,

    knowing my goal helped me to choose which points of the issue I should talk in the meeting and which points I should wait to the other day.

D. Evaluate

  • Like I mentioned above, the C and I became friends after. However, I don’t feel I will trust the C 100 per cent even though the issue was sorted out and that the C didn’t say the “XYZ”.
  • What I did well was to send people thank-you notes right after. => People feel more respected when they feel appreciated.
  • I shouldn’t have overthought and dig myself in the swamp of depressions for so long because all I needed to do was to be calm and think through the situation.

    Everything happens for a reason. Don’t be too worried because there is always one way to navigate the problem.

Photos: Internet

Leave a Reply

